Bald or Not, Just Act on It Anyway!

robinroberts.jpg

I am not sure how many of you saw Good Morning America this morning. But if you did not get a chance to tune in, — I didn’t because I do not have cable! — you need to visit their Web site so you may witness a truly beautiful act of courage.

For those of you who need a little back story, GMA anchor Robin Roberts was diagnosed with breast cancer in July 2007. She has since endured chemotherapy treatments, illness and losing her hair, all while managing to keep with the requirements of her job and inspire people around the country with her strength.

What’s more, Roberts has chronicled her journey for other people to witness, and even shaved her head on national television.

But today, she really took the cake by debuting her lovely face sans wig for Isaac Mizrahi’s runway show, live from New York Fashion Week.

As part of an ongoing series in which each GMA anchor will be dared by his or her fellow anchors to do something a bit “out of the box,” Roberts was dared to strut her stuff on the catwalk. But she surprised the GMA anchors by deciding to shed her wig.

“I wanted to do this for everyone that is going through something, a challenge in their life,” Roberts said during the segment. “And you look at that challenge, and you look at it as a wall, as an opportunity to scale new heights, heights that you never knew you could scale before.

“That’s what it’s all about. We all have something.”

Self-help author Dr. Robert Anthony once said, “Courage is simply the willingness to be afraid and act anyway.

I don’t doubt for one second that Robin Roberts was a bit scared, maybe even embarrassed or intimidated, to put herself out there for anyone and everyone to see.

But she acted anyway. She did it for herself and anyone else who may be struggling with cancer or a similar personal battle.

And, although she may not have known it at the time, her one act of courage has helped so many other people to do just that —

Act anyway.

This post is dedicated to Bekah, another woman who has chosen to “act anyway” in her own beautiful manner. Check out Bekah’s blog, True Beauty, Never Hurries, for inspiration from the lovely 23-year-old.

4 Comments

Filed under February 2008, Pray

4 responses to “Bald or Not, Just Act on It Anyway!

  1. Amanda

    Wow. Amazing. I may be showing my lack of knowing about what is going on in the television world, but I had no idea she had breast cancer. An incredible act of courage and strength. It really makes you think about the things you worry about (a zit on your face, etc.) and the things you are afraid of doing. So cool… such an inspiration. Great job!
    I love you

    xoxo
    Amanda

  2. Mommy

    I did get to see it!! It was amazing, it was actually emotional for me. I wasn’t expecting it and even though I knew she was bald it never occurred to me that she would take her wig off. I was overwhelmed by her grace and power…you could literally feel it!!

  3. Lisa Stahl

    I saw it this morning also….I knew she was doing the fashion show but when she came around the corner without her wig, my first thought was how brave she was. After crying and wiping off my make-up I had just put on, I called your mother to make sure she had it on.

  4. Amanda

    Ok…so I just actually watched the video. Incredible…Many tears of course…I can only hope I would handle myself with such grace.

    xoxo

Leave a Reply

