Gettin’ My Burger Fix

My fiance, Dan, and I made turkey burgers last night. I had been craving one for quite some time, and, since we were both home for dinner, it seemed like the perfect opportunity to make them.

Here’s how dinner usually goes:

1.) One of us suggests something.

2.) I say, “Mmm. That sounds good.”

3.) And then, Dan does most of the work while I do all of the things that don’t involve getting ground turkey under my fingernails or something of the sort.

Anyway, THESE TURKEY BURGERS ROCKED! So, I thought I would share it with all of you. By the way, credit for this recipe goes completely to Dan; I did not come up with even a smidgen of an ingredient. Oh, well, he was quite the chef!

Baked Turkey n’ Bacon Burgers:

Makes 4 to 5 burgers.

1 1/4 lbs. extra lean ground turkey

3/4 cup spinach, chopped

2 strips turkey bacon, sliced into small squares

1 shallot, finely chopped

1 tsp. cumin

1 tsp. paprika

2 tbsp. olive oil

Juice of 1/2 lemon

Preheat oven to 375 degrees. Put ground turkey into a large mixing bowl. Slice bacon and add to bowl. Chop spinach and shallots, and also add to bowl. Measure remaining ingredients (including lemon juice) and then mix everything into the turkey, mashing the ingredients until evenly spread throughout (Dan uses his hands!).

Once mixed, begin to form meat into patties:

uncookedpatties.jpg

Arrange patties on a cookie sheet. Before placing the burgers into the oven, we also put a bag of Alexia Waffle Fries, a healthier version of regular fries, on a small baking sheet. We then put both trays into the oven.

**Bake burgers for 17 minutes.

turkeyburgerandfries.jpg

I put my burger on a whole wheat bun and made a side salad, so I could get in a bit of veggies other than French fries — which I am pretty sure do not count! Dan toasted pine nuts for my salad, and we added some broccoli sprouts and spinach to the romaine lettuce. I topped it off with honey mustard dressing — my favorite! The one I used is made by Simplify Gourmet. I could not find a link to their Web site, but I found this dressing at Giant Eagle, a major grocery chain in the Pittsburgh, PA area.

Doesn’t it all look so yummy?

turkey-burger-and-salad-2.jpg

This is making me hungry … I gotta go eat!

2 Comments

Filed under Eat, February 2008

2 responses to “Gettin’ My Burger Fix

  1. Mommy

    Okay…how come I wasn’t invited to dinner??? They sound wonderful!!

  2. Amanda

    These sound yummy…and the salad and fries do too! I know I don’t eat turkey…but they still sound good! Good job Dan!

Leave a Reply

