Poisoned Food, Oh, and Dinner for Two, Please.

So, it turns out that my migraine was really the aftermath of food poisoning.

Yep. Food poisoning.

Let me tell you something — food poisoning is not fun at all. Definitely try not to ever, ever get it . . . seriously.

Here is the chain of events that lead to me becoming very familiar with the smell of my toilet and the design of my bathroom floor:

My fiancé, Dan, and I went out Wednesday night for a quick bite to eat. We went to one of our favorite restaurants, and both ordered the same thing. The restaurant is Mediterranean-influenced, so our appetizer consisted of pita bread, hummus, falafel and tabbouleh. Dinner came, we both chowed down, all was well.

We went grocery shopping afterward and, throughout the store my stomach began to make these deep-seated purring noises. But I wasn’t yet too alarmed because this restaurant tends to always give me interesting digestive experiences.

But then, Dan began to feel sick, too, and we both spent Wednesday evening, Thursday and Thursday evening playing musical bathroom chairs. I woke up with a migraine Friday morning (see yesterday’s post), but still thought it was just that — a migraine. I also thought that maybe we had a touch of the flu.

When I realized, however, that Dan and I were both feeling the same way, and that we had eaten the exact same food, I did the math. The sickness had happened like clockwork; it was like someone had set a timer and said, “Now, when this goes off, you will both begin to feel as though your insides are going to fall out.”

We had food poisoning.

Today is day three and we have still not eaten much of anything. According to the doctor, the affects should start to wear off some time soon. Sadly, Dan did on Thursday night make me a fabulous dinner for Valentine’s Day, but neither one of us could really enjoy eating because we felt so awful.

Now, I know the context of this post is really quite disgusting. However, I do want to share with you the recipe that Dan put together. I am positive that had I been able to properly eat and enjoy dinner, it would have been delicious.

I am hoping that when I am feeling better, I will be able to stomach the leftovers we had to save as a result of our sickness.

Here you are:

Mahi Valentine (Isn’t that so creative? (: Dan thought of it …)

(Serves 1 -2 people)

mahivalentine.jpg

Ingredients:

2 3-4 oz. Mahi Mahi fillets

2 quarters of a lemon

1 tbsp extra-virgin olive oil

Salt, pepper, paprika to taste

For the sauce –

1/3 cup sun-dried cherries

1/2 of your favorite apple (Dan used a Pink Lady), sliced thinly

3/4 cup brandy

3/4 cup vegetable broth

Lightly dust fillets with salt, pepper and paprika. Squeeze one lemon quarter onto both sides of each fillet. Heat olive oil in sautée pan and, when the pan is warm, place fillets in the pan, cooking on each side for 2 – 3 minutes. When fillets are finished (they will flake easily with a fork), transfer to a plate and tent with foil.

For the sauce — Add sun-dried cherries and apple pieces to same pan in which fish was cooked. Sautee for 1 – 2 minutes or until apples begin to brown. Add brandy. When brandy begins to reduce (takes about 2 minutes), add vegetable broth and remaining lemon. Heat until liquid equals about 1/2 of the amount it was at start or until sauce thickens.

Remove sauce from heat, uncover fish and pour sauce on top. Dan paired the fish with asparagus and barley.

mahivalentine21.jpg

Leave a comment

Filed under Eat, February 2008

Leave a Reply

