Busy Being Green And, Well, . . . Busy.

Before I start, I must first apologize for being such a horrible blogger this week. These last few days have been the kind of days where everything begins to blur together, and when you reflect on your activities you think, “Really? That was this morning?”

I have been really busy.

But no excuses. I just wanted to explain my situation a bit.

Anyhoo, I promised you a juice recipe and here it is. I borrowed this one from The Raw Food Detox Diet by Natalia Rose. I have to be honest, this Green Lemonade takes some getting used to. But once you have had it a couple of times, it begins to wear on you and is really quite refreshing:

Makes 1 serving

1 head romaine lettuce or celery

5 to 6 stalks kale (any type)

1 to 2 apples (as needed for sweetness — I used two! Try organic Pink Lady or Fuji apples)

1 whole organic lemon (You don’t have to peel it)

1 to 2 tablespoons fresh ginger (optional)

Process the vegetables through the juicer by admitting one vegetable at a time through the mouth of the juicer. The fiber will shoot out of the juicer into one container while the sprout will eject the fresh juice into another container. Pour into a large glass and drink! Notice how the lemon really cuts out the “green” taste that most people try to avoid.

And wait just a minute . . . Don’t think I forgot about all of you who do not have a juicer to use at your disposal!

Here is a recipe for a greens drink that can be made in your blender. This one, which was featured on Oprah, is concocted by Dr. Mehmet Oz. The ingredients are fairly similar to the recipe I have posted above, but everything just goes into a blender instead:

  • 2 cups spinach
  • 2 cups cucumber
  • 1 head of celery
  • 1/2 inch or teaspoon ginger root
  • 1 bunch parsley
  • 2 apples
  • Juice of 1 lime
  • Juice of 1/2 lemon

After everything is combined in a blender, this recipe makes 28 to 30 ounces—about three to four servings. Oprah has said, “It’s a glass of fresh.”

Let me know what you think of these green beverages. They look rather questionable, but turn out to be quite tasty. What’s more, the enzymes that you are getting from the fruits and vegetables are extremely beneficial to your well-being!

Enjoy. (:

3 Comments

Filed under April 2008, Eat

3 responses to “Busy Being Green And, Well, . . . Busy.

  1. Mom

    Well, as you know I have had the green lemonade. I received a very large pitcher of it from my lovely daughter, a sort of thanks-for-my-help-in-giving-her-life gift!!! I can honestly say that it takes a little getting used to, but not much. I shared it with Uncle Russell and daddy, two people who don’t force themselves to eat or drink something horrible merely for the health benefits (where as I would). They both thought it wasn’t bad. When you take the first sip you actually think “Do I like it . . . don’t I like it?” But then, you want another sip. It only stays fresh for three days so if you make a huge amount you must drink…just stir it or shake it up the next time you want it. I’m actually starting to love it!!! It makes me feel healthy! xoxo

  2. Amanda

    I did try the green lemonade as well. I am not so sure about it…I would definitely drink it because I know it is healthy though. Maybe I need to try it a few more times….my lovely sister could whip me up some. 🙂 The blender one sounds good. I will have to try that . It may not be for a week or so…have to get through finals…but I will let you know when I try it!
    xoxo
    Amanda

  3. Amanda

    P.S. If anyone would like to get me a graduation present…a juicer would be nice 😉

Leave a Reply

