Hate Your Job? Keep on Movin’ Forward

Today, I thought I would travel back to the original inspiration for this blog, the memoir Eat, Pray, Love. I was looking back at old posts and realized that we have not discussed the book — which leans so much on a quite basic, wide-spread spiritual belief — for quite some time.

I came across this excerpt from Elizabeth Gilbert’s Web site and found it fabulously true, not only about creative work, but life in general:

“In the end, I love this work. I have always loved this work. My suggestion is that you start with the love and then work very hard and try to let go of the results. Cast out your will, and then cut the line. Please try, also, not to go totally freaking insane in the process . . . We need more creation, not more destruction . . . Become a knight, a force of diligence and faith. I don’t know how else to do it except that way. As the great poet Jack Gilbert said once to young writer, when she asked him for advice about her own poems: ‘Do you have the courage to bring forth this work? The treasures that are hidden inside you are hoping you will say YES.'”

I recently had a conversation with my fiancé, Dan, in relation to this very way of thinking. Sometimes it seems tough or impossible or whatever negative word you want to insert here, but loving your work really is so vital to helping ensure a more peaceful way of life. We all have experienced, or may still be in that very place, a time when going to work was blah and the hours (minutes, seconds) on the clock seemed to drag by. And while it may seem more easy for some to assert that this is not a good way to live, the fact of the matter is sometimes it takes a bit of “suffering” to get where you truly want to be.

The hope, however, is that, as Gilbert said, we can each move forward and bring or life’s work to light. What else, then, would be the purpose of living?

No one is saying it is easy, sugar, spice and everything nice, but what if it could end up that way for at least the majority of the time?

And, don’t get me wrong, I know this battle it tougher for some than others. But when it is all said and done, would you rather lose the fight or show the world what you’ve got?

It may difficult, but I have faith that it is worth the ride . . .

3 Comments

Filed under May 2008, Pray

3 responses to “Hate Your Job? Keep on Movin’ Forward

  1. How could anyone hate work?

    The Sickboy Chronicles – The Gift

    (Nice choice of theme by the way:))

  2. How could anyone hate work?
    This is the link I meant to share.

    The Sickboy Chronicles – A Day at the Office

    (Nice choice of theme by the way:))

  3. Amanda

    Great quote from Gilbert! I happen to really love my job…yet, I still have “blah” days and, for those days, this is great advice. Thank you!

    xoxo

Leave a Reply

