The Return of the Blogger . . . and Her Coffee

I have to apologize for being such a horrible blogger these past few weeks. I feel like I have been saying that in a lot of recent posts, so I figured I would just make one big, “I’m sorry” entry and give you the down-low.

I don’t like to make excuses, so, instead, let me offer you a few explanations as to what I have been up to lately:

1.) I am moving. This is the most major one of all. Not just because packing up all of your crap and trucking it to a new home kinda stinks, but also because I am moving out of the state . . . to Ohio to be exact. I have mixed emotions about this one. When it is all said and done, we (Dan and I) are moving for a fantastic reason. He was offered a full, professional contract with a dance company — year-round, benefits … the works. So, that’s sooooooo exciting, right?!  RIGHT! But it is also tough for me. You see, I have never lived anywhere but Pittsburgh, and even more so, I have never lived more than about 30 minutes from my family. Therefore, sorting out the details of a normal move (where to live, what to get rid of and what to bring, etc.) has been heightened by the bittersweet fact that I will be leaving my family. I know that we will be OK — we have a tight-knit relationship — but the truth that I will not be able to drop everything just to help out my sister, or go to a soccer game for that matter, is a real slap in the face.

2.) I got a new writing job. YAY! YAY! YAY! No complaints here, but I am busier than ever. Can anyone say early mornings (4:30 a.m.) and late nights (like, midnight)? I am loving it, but coffee has become a staple before even beginning to communicate. But, hey, I really do love my professional life.

3.) Wedding plans. Again, I love this stuff, but the details are killing us. We are starting to understand just a bit why people elope. It seems so silly to spend so much money on one day. Not to sound cliché, but we are looking for the marriage, not the wedding, people. Forty-five cents a fork (spoon, knife, salad fork) … are you kidding me?! Finger foods anyone?!

So, there you are — the top three things that have been hindering my fabulous blogging skills. But like I said, I don’t believe in excuses. Therefore, I am turning over a new leaf today. Yes, yes … I know that sounds so silly. But I am serious. I am not going to let this stuff get in the way anymore. From here on out, I am here to fulfill you reading pleasures, fantastic blog readers.

Just don’t be alarmed if I sometimes sound a bit crazy … it’s the coffee talking.

Caroline

6 Comments

Filed under Eat, May 2008, Pray, Run

6 responses to “The Return of the Blogger . . . and Her Coffee

  1. Jessica

    Where in OH are you moving? I’m in Columbus (grew up here; recently moved back) and its not a bad place!

  2. aunt shawna

    Your mom and Dad told us about the upcoming move. I can completely understand your reservations. I too have never left the “Burgh”, and at this point in my life I only live 5 minutes from my parents. I’m an only child, and I am very close to my mom and dad. ( I usually talk to my mom a couple times a day). Everything will be fine, in fact there will be so many road trips between your mom, dad, Luke, Isaac, Amanda, and Anthony, you’ll be sick of seeing them. Good luck with the move. Keep us “posted”. I want more details on your writing job!

  3. Darlene Bolena

    Caroline,
    I know how you feel. I had never been out of the “burgh” and come from a family very much like yours. Whe Chuck and I got married we moved to California for the military and I cried for three weeks straight before the move. It was probably one of the hardest things I had ever done but it was great for Chuck and I because it made us rely on each other for everything. Your move will be hard but you will all be ok. Just cry and a martini wouldn’t hurt either! 🙂
    BTW…congrats on the jobs for both of you!

  4. Jessica, Aunt Shawna and Darlene –

    Thank you so much for all of your support. This is a very exciting and difficult thing for me all wrapped into one! It is so nice to know that I have friends, family and blog readers there to support me! (: Much love to all of you.

  5. Pingback: Weekend Goodies and a Breakfast to Die For! « Eat, Pray, Run

  6. Pingback: Final Day of the Challenge! « Eat, Pray, Run

Leave a Reply

