An Asian-Inspired Dinner

Dinner was something new tonight. I tried soba noodles which are an Asian pasta made from buckwheat and wheat, and they are smaller than spaghetti noodles. I found these babies at Whole Foods. As it boiled, I threw in some Soycutash, a Trader Joe’s blend of edamame, corn and red peppers. Creative, huh?

I served up a bowl of the noodles cold, and I tossed it in a mix of rice vinegar, sesame oil and sesame seeds. The dressing was yummy and light! All I did was mix one part oil for every two parts vinegar (i.e. 2 Tbsps vinegar, 1 Tbsp. oil), and then added the sesame seeds at the end.

I am not too freakish about measuring exact portion sizes, so I am not sure how much of the soba noodles I ate. I would say it was about 1 1/2 cups or so.

I definitely need to do a better job at eating my veggies tomorrow. Like I said, I am avoiding grocery shopping before leaving on Friday, so I am using what we have in the pantry, refrigerator and freezer. But I do have some greens to eat, so you will be seeing those tomorrow.

I didn’t get to go for a walk which was a bummer — I love summer night walks. But tomorrow is a new day!

All in all, however, I feel great and I am looking forward to a good night’s sleep. But before I hit the sack, I think I will have a treat. After all, there is some vanilla ice cream in the freezer that needs to be finished … (:

Good night!

1 Comment

Filed under Eat, June 2008, Pray, Run

One response to “An Asian-Inspired Dinner

  1. Amanda

    That dinner looks delicious…I will have to try that out after vacation! And, just FYI, your sister is always willing to go for a night walk 😉

Leave a Reply

