Bake Up Some Homemade Energy!

As promised … the Energy Bars!  These are a yummy treat, too, and I feel like it is a recipe you can really play around with. For example, I added a 1/2 cup of oat bran to my batch for a little extra fiber. And Dan made ones that were flavored with peanut butter instead of the raisins and apricots that are used in this recipe. Another thing I am going to try is substituting the eggs with bananas. By the way, this is another one from Ellie Krieger. I love this book!

Have fun, and create your own. They are tasty!

Energy Bars
Makes about 20 servings

Ingredients:

Cooking spray
1 cup quick cooking rolled oats
1/2 cup raw unsalted sunflower seeds
1/2 cup toasted wheat germ
1/4 cup whole-wheat pastry flour
1/2 cup dried apricots
1/2 cup raw almonds
1/2 cup raisins
1/2 cup pitted dried dates
1/2 cup powdered nonfat dry milk (I used about 1/3 cup soy milk instead.)
1/2 teaspoon ground cinnamon
1/3 cup pure maple syrup
2 large eggs

Preheat the oven to 350 degrees F. Coat a 9 by 13-inch baking pan with cooking spray. Place all ingredients except the syrup and eggs in a food processor and pulse until the mixture is finely chopped. Add the syrup and eggs and pulse until the mixture is well combined. It will resemble a coarse paste.

Transfer to the baking pan and spread evenly. Bake until just done, about 20 minutes. Cut into 20 squares.


Nutritional Analysis (per serving):
Calories: 133
Total Fat: 5 grams
Saturated Fat: 0.6 grams
Protein 5 grams
Carbohydrates 20 grams
Fiber 2.5 grams

6 Comments

Filed under Eat, Pray, Run, September 2008

6 responses to “Bake Up Some Homemade Energy!

  1. aunt shawna

    Dan and Caroline, if I take out the raisins and apricots, how much peanut butter would I use, and can I use skim milk instead of the powdered, and would it be the same amout as the soy? Now, as far as the food processor goes, I either have to use my friends, and promise her half of the bars, or use a blender, would that work? Holy questions!!

  2. Dan used 1/4 cup peanut butter, and I thought they were perfect. He would of preferred a bit more peanut butter. So, I guess you could give or take a bit. You can absolutely substitute skim for soy, and use 1/3 cup just as I did for the soy. I would imagine that a blender would work; I have used it with other recipes before we had a food processor. There is nothing in the recipe that needs too much chopping. But I cannot guarantee it. (; Let me know how they turn out!

  3. Kelley

    Yay! I’m excited to try BOTH the bars and granola! I’m right there with ya Aunt Shawna. Bring out the blender!

  4. Kelley: Oh, my gosh … I know I have already said this about 10,000 times, but I love this stuff. We already went through two batches of granola, so I have to whip up some more tonight. I might have to think up some crafty additions …. I will let you know if I come up with anything! And, by the way, I have no idea why the blender would not work. Next time I make bars, I will give it a try and fill y’all in!

  5. Oh I can’t wait to try this recipe. Thanks so much for sharing it with us!

  6. Ashley: Mmmm… They are so good! You are very welcome. (:

Leave a Reply

