Because it Makes Sense

So, Thursday was my last day at my desk job. It was bittersweet and exciting and…well, I don’t know.

You see, here is the tough thing about walking away from everything that makes sense:

It doesn’t make sense.

It doesn’t make sense to walk away from financial security and health benefits and logicality and stability.

It doesn’t make sense at all.

But, for me, what really just no longer made sense was stifling my passions and hopes and dreams and energy just so that everyone else thought my life made sense.

After a while I started to lose who I was. And as you all know by now, that is where I have found myself as of late — lost.

So, I walked away from my desk job, and what I am finding out is that I feel pretty darn good about it.

It doesn’t make sense, and I know that. It seems a bit crazy, and I know that, too.

But I also know that I can no longer look at myself and say that my life is OK because it makes sense.

Because it really, really doesn’t.

Humor columnist Erma Bombeck once said, “When I stand before God at the end of my life, I would hope that I would not have a single bit of talent left, and could say, ‘I used everything you gave me.'”

That thought, that one sentence, just blows my mind. How powerful. How cool.

I AM NOT USING IT, PEOPLE.

Not the least bit.

So, here is where you will find me today:

A little senseless? Sure.

A little unconventional? I guess.

A girl with a big-ass smile on her face because she knows her purpose in life?

Abso-freaking-lutely.

smileycaroline.jpg

5 Comments

Filed under January 2008, Pray

5 responses to “Because it Makes Sense

  1. Mommy

    I abso-freaking-lutely agree!!!! I have always known what your purpose is. Once again, wonderfully written. xoxo

  2. Amanda

    🙂 It makes me happy that you are happy. As I have said… do WHATEVER IT TAKES to be happy!! I love you.

  3. Melissa

    You go girl! Absolutely love it! Keep being happy!

    ps. You look like your mother! Beautiful smile!

  4. Dave

    You have alot of talent – I appreciate your truthfulness.

  5. Yeah your brother is a cool kid, you should put one about him in your “blog.”

Leave a comment