Lessons in Love and Coolness

pgandisaac-2.jpg When my mother decided to have two more children after my sister and me, I don’t think I could have ever been prepared to understand how much her choice would impact my life. I was nine years old when Luke was born and eleven when Isaac came into my life. At the time, I had no clue how much these two boys were about to change my world.

But for quite some time now, I have told people they are “Like my first kids.” I have learned more from caring for them and fighting with them and laughing with them than I could ever put into words. Isaac, now 13 years old, is a little light, my constant, “Hey, Care, look at this!” reminder that life is so awesome. Luke, now 15 years old, is a carbon copy of me, save for the fact that I am a girl and he is a boy. He is a book nerd almost as much as I am, and he is totally jealous that I have Post-It pens and he doesn’t. But somehow he makes it all sound much cooler than I do.

They were both at my apartment for a sleepover this weekend, and while Isaac and my fiance, Dan, ran around and got goofy, Luke decided he wanted me to help him create a blog.

This kid amazes me.

His belief in himself, his thoughts and actions is so steadfast, so unwavering. He likes rock n’ roll and doesn’t really care if his friends don’t. He has the entire collection of Friends DVDs and knows the lines inside and out — despite the fact it is a bit before his time. He and his friends have started their own film production company, the cause to which his new blog is now devoted. And he wanted to start that blog because not only does he want to be as fabulous as me , but he also has no problems putting his thoughts out there for the world to see.

I would like to think I was that sure of myself when I was his age, but I don’t think that was the case.

But here is what I understand about that notion: My mother always says (How often do I start a sentence like that? You rock, mom!) that her children have taught her way more about life than she ever could have taught them.

And I get that. But what I tell my mom she also needs to understand is that she, too, has made me who I am. I am a better person for having her as my mother.

When it comes to Luke and Isaac, I know for sure they have taught me a world of knowledge. I will raise my kids better, love my life more and move forward with more assuredness for having known the two of them.

But what I hope, too, is that I have given them pieces of myself that they can hold onto forever; lessons and love that have made them better people.

And the coolness?

Well, Luke, I would like to think I gave you a little bit of that, too.

pgandluke.jpg

4 Comments

Filed under February 2008, Pray

4 responses to “Lessons in Love and Coolness

  1. Mommy

    Yep…tears!!!! The pictures of you are beautiful and not just because you are, but because of the pure love for them in your eyes. YOU rock!!! Thank you for putting it out there once again and reminding us all how important it is to give those pieces away…I guarantee you that they will hold onto them forever and are different because of you and your sister. xoxo

  2. Lisa Stahl

    That was so nice Caroline…you said it perfectly. That was a great decision your mother made so long ago. I love when I see you and Mandi interact with the boys…it reminds me of how great my family gets along….ha,ha,ha….had to put a little joke in there….

  3. Amanda

    🙂 Tears on my end too. Perfectly written..as always. I am different because of each one of you (you, Luke and Isaac) and of course mom and dad. I can’t imagine who I would be without you all. Each one of you has taught me something worth knowing…something I would not have known without you. I love you tons.

    xoxo
    Amanda

  4. Amanda

    You are so funny Lisa! 🙂

Leave a comment