Why Prince Charming Will Not Be Saving My Life …

path1.jpg Taking the path less traveled never seems easy at the start. It is tough to shut out the naysayers, put on a brave face and continue forward. However, that path is also one that, when intended for your feet, will become more and more comfortable as you tread along.

I was reading through a book yesterday titled Living Yoga: Creating a Life Practice by Christy Turlington, when I stumbled across the following poem by Pulitzer Prize Winning Poet Mary Oliver:

The Journey

mary-oliver-part-1.jpgmary-oliver-part-2.jpg

This poem honestly took my breath away. Not only is it so beautifully and stylistically written, but I could not help feeling like someone had placed it right there in my life, especially for me.

Thus far during my journey to discover what it is that I want from my life, I have had so very many encounters with the voice of “reason” — that little voice telling me that this path is much more difficult than the one I was previously walking. Heck, my own voice falls into the mix more than I care to say!

But here is the thing: Would such an endeavor be called a journey if it did not cause one to put up a fight for the great adventure that lie ahead? Not a single hero ever went about saving a life without shedding a bit of sweat. Imagine if Prince Charming never had to chase down Cinderella and fight off her evil step family. Nothing about their tale would be a journey, but, instead, an ordinary, everyday love affair.

So, what makes any of us think that our lives deserve any less luster; any less of an adventure-packed, fight off a few dragons, fairytale ending?!

We all should be embarking on the road that feels the most well-suited beneath our feet. Yes, there are bound to be a few pebbles that get stuck in our shoes. But wouldn’t you rather bend over, remove them, and continue on, than live your life knowing that you never put on your walking shoes at all?

I would. And reading this poem helps me to remember the reason why I ever sought to begin on this journey at all. I am determined to save the only one life that I am abolutely positive how to go about rescuing . . .

My very own.

3 Comments

Filed under February 2008, Pray

3 responses to “Why Prince Charming Will Not Be Saving My Life …

  1. Mom

    WOW!!!! The poem was beautiful and your response to it honest, real and determined. I’m 46 (so they tell me) and I, too, want to save one life, the only life I am absolutely positive in how to go about rescuing…mine!! I talked about this with Aunt Cathy today…the truth is, I have to be willing to accept the fact that it is not an easy journey. I may have to work for it and make time for it. I want to know more, exercise more, be kinder and know why I am here.

  2. Amanda

    That poem was amazing and your response was beautifully written…as always 😉 Yes, the road less traveled is, oftentimes, slightly more difficult than the “common path” but, it’s a hell of a lot more fun! Right? There are so many things I want to see, do, explore and experience. I KNOW much of this will take a lot of work… but I am excited for it because it’s what I really want! I love you. Thank you for sharing the wonderful poem.

    xoxo
    Amanda

  3. Thanks !! good blog ….

Leave a comment